Student exchange with Florida State University in Tallahassee, USA

Die Reisegruppe des Beyond-Borders-Programms von 2016
Student exchange with Florida State University: Beyond Borders 2016 group

Studentenwerk Dresden has been arranging a student exchange in cooperation with Florida State University and with financial support from the Max Kade Foundation every year since 1998. The Beyond Borders program.

The trip to Tallahassee, Florida usually takes place in February to March (during the semester break). The return visit of American students in Dresden takes place in May of the same year. A detailed announcement is available on our website from the September before the trip in February of the coming year.

The aim of the program is to afford students the opportunity to become better acquainted with the partner country. Through various activities, you will find out more about the USA and the people who live there. In addition to tourist activities, you will also participate in social projects and experience US student life on “Shadow Day”. This will give you an intense lesson in the American way of life. The program also allows for independent travel (4-5 days) that you can arrange on your own with others from your group. This is the perfect opportunity to explore Florida!

In short: a new country, new people, a new culture, an unbelievable experience!

You can read the below travel reports to get a personal impression.

Studentenaustausch mit der Florida State University in Tallahassee, USA

Die Reisegruppe des Beyond-Borders-Programms von 2016
Studentenaustausch mit der Florida State University: Beyond-Borders-Gruppe von 2016

Das Studentenwerk Dresden führt seit 1998 jährlich gemeinsam mit der Florida State University und der finanziellen Unterstützung der Max-Kade-Stiftung einen Austausch durch: Das Beyond Borders Programm.

In der Regel findet die Reise nach Tallahassee/Florida im Februar bis März (in den Semesterferien) statt. Der Gegenbesuch der amerikanischen Studierenden nach Dresden folgt dann im Mai desselben Jahres. Die genaue Ausschreibung ist immer ab September des Vorjahres für die Reise im Februar des Folgejahres auf unserer Website zu finden.

Ziel des Programms ist es, das Partnerland noch besser kennen zu lernen. Die vielfältigen Aktivitäten ermöglichen Ihnen, mehr über die USA und die dort lebenden Menschen zu erfahren. Neben den touristischen Programmpunkten werden Sie auch an sozialen Projekten mitarbeiten und den studentischen Alltag beim „Shadow Day“ miterleben. So ganz nebenbei, aber sehr intensiv, bekommt man dabei eine Lektion im „American way of life“. Zum Programm gehört auch ein „Independent Travel“ (4-5 Tage), den Sie selbst mit Ihrer Gruppe organisieren. Da haben Sie die Gelegenheit, Florida zu entdecken.

Kurzum: neues Land, neue Menschen, neue Kultur, eine unglaubliche Erfahrung!

Für mehr persönliche Eindrücke können Sie die folgenden Reiseberichte lesen.