Your Position:

Must I register? Where do I get a proof of address?

Every person who moves (either into a main or into a secondary residence) must register the move within two weeks. This can be done in every registration office in Dresden (not only the central one or the one in Plauen); you can then avoid a long queue time.

You can get the proof of address (which must be presented) when you sign the rental agreement at the Studentenwerk. The concierge writes the exact move-in date on the document on the day you move in.

Further information on the website of the city of Dresden

You must register only if you move abroad or if you give up a secondary residence. The “cancel registration” must be done at the earliest one week before you move out and the registration office competent for your main residence must be informed within two weeks after.

Notice from the state capital for move-ins for the 2022/23 winter semester:

The processing of requests at the citizens' offices is only possible by prior appointment. Persons who have moved to Dresden for the first time or to another apartment within Dresden must register within two weeks in accordance with Section 17 (1) of the Federal Registration Act (Bundesmeldegesetz, BMG). For students, we have prioritized the period from October 10 to October 14, 2022 at the citizens' offices in Altstadt, Cotta, or Plauen. Appointments are made exclusively by e-mail at buergerbuero-altstadt@dresden.de, buergerbuero-cotta@dresden.de, buergerbuero-plauen@dresden.de or assigned by telephone.

More information

Ihre Position:

Muss ich meinen Wohnsitz in Dresden an- und abmelden? Woher bekomme ich die Wohnungsgeberbestätigung?

Wer eine Wohnung bezieht, hat sich innerhalb von zwei Wochen nach dem Einzug mit Haupt- oder Neben-/Zweitwohnsitz anzumelden. Die Anmeldung ist in allen Bürgerbüros Dresdens möglich - nicht nur im Zentralen Bürgerbüro oder im Bürgerbüro Plauen. Bitte nutzen Sie diese Möglichkeit, um längere Wartezeiten zu vermeiden.

Die dafür notwendige Wohnungsgeberbestätigung erhalten Sie beim Mietvertragsabschluss im Studentenwerk. Den tatsächlichen Einzugstermin vermerkt Ihnen darauf Ihr Hausmeister beim Einzug.

Weitere Informationen auf der Website der Stadt Dresden

Abmelden muss sich nur, wer ins Ausland zieht oder eine Nebenwohnung aufgibt. Eine Abmeldung ist frühestens eine Woche vor dem Auszug möglich, sie muss innerhalb von zwei Wochen nach dem Auszug bei der für die Hauptwohnung zuständigen Meldebehörde erfolgen.

Hinweis der Landeshauptstadt für Einzüge zum Wintersemester 2022/23:

Die Bearbeitung der Anliegen bei den Bürgerbüros ist nur nach vorheriger Terminvereinbarung möglich. Personen, die neu nach Dresden oder innerhalb von Dresden in eine andere Wohnung gezogen sind, müssen sich gemäß § 17 Abs. 1 Bundesmeldegesetz (BMG) innerhalb von zwei Wochen anmelden. Für die Studenten haben wir vorrangig den Zeitraum vom 10. Oktober bis zum 14. Oktober 2022 in den Bürgerbüros Altstadt, Cotta oder Plauen vorgesehen. Termine werden ausschließlich per E-Mail unter buergerbuero-altstadt@dresden.de, buergerbuero-cotta@dresden.de, buergerbuero-plauen@dresden.de oder telefonisch vergeben.

Weitere Informationen