Your Position:

Extension of the tenancy agreement

The General Terms of the Tenancy Agreement provide the following rules concerning occupancy under point 3:

§ 3 Duration of tenancy

(1) Eligibility for accommodation is generally limited until the end of the regular period of study. Lease extension is possible upon application, provided that all conditions according to article 1, paragraph 1 or 2 are met and the demand for accommodation of students within the regular period of study, particularly first-year students is covered.

Students who wish to extend the occupancy date have to apply in writing three months before the tenancy agreement expires. Please contact the respective person in charge. Submit an informal application or use the application form below:

Download application form to request extension of occupancy (as PDF-file) Overview: Contact persons (department of accommodation)

AMB §11 Duration and termination of the tenancy agreement
...
(3) In well-founded circumstances the tenancy agreement can be extended according to the General Terms of Use. A respective application has to be submitted to the Studentenwerk Dresden at latest three months before the tenancy agreement expires. Please give reasons for the extension of the tenancy agreement (certificates required) and clearly indicate for how long you wish to extend the agreement.

Upon good cause shown the extension of the tenancy agreement for a summer semester is usually unproblematic. As we can never meet the housing demand of all first-year students at the beginning of a winter semester the extension of a tenancy agreement beyond the regular period of study for a winter semester is rather unlikely. Since every decision is a single-case decision it is nevertheless always advisable to request extension of the tenancy agreement (please dont forget to give reasons for the request academic progress report ) anyway.

A good alternative in order to extend the occupancy date for a winter semester is subletting a room. Students who intend to go abroad or will not be in Dresden for a semester have the opportunity to sublet their rooms to other students.

further information regarding the subletting of student hall rooms

Verlängerung des Mietvertrages über die Regelstudienzeit hinaus

In der Benutzungsordnung für die Wohnheime ist unter Punkt 2 zur Wohndauer folgendes geregelt:

2. Wohndauer
(1) Die Wohnberechtigung ist grundsätzlich bis zum Ende der Regelstudienzeit befristet. Eine Verlängerung ist auf Antrag möglich, vorausgesetzt, die Bedingungen nach § 1 Abs. 1 oder 2 sind erfüllt und die Befriedigung des Wohnbedarfs von sich in der Regelstudienzeit und vor allem im ersten Studienjahr eines ersten Studiums befindlichen Wohnberechtigten ist sichergestellt.

Ein Verlängerungsantrag muss drei Monate vor Ablauf des Vertrages schriftlich bei der zuständigen Sachbearbeiterin gestellt werden. Der Antrag kann formlos oder mit diesem Formular gestellt werden.

AMB, § 11 Dauer und Beendigung des Mietverhältnisses
...
(3) In begründeten Fällen ist eine Vertragsverlängerung entsprechend der Benutzungsordnung für die Wohnheime des Studentenwerkes möglich. Ein entsprechender Antrag muss spätestens drei Monate vor Ende des Mietverhältnisses beim SWD vorliegen.
Im Antrag sind die Gründe für die Vertragsverlängerung darzulegen (Nachweise sind erforderlich) und deren Dauer anzugeben.

Bei Vorliegen entsprechender Gründe ist eine Verlängerung für ein Sommersemester in der Regel kein Problem. Da wir jeweils zu Beginn des Wintersemesters nie den Wohnbedarf aller Studienanfänger decken können, ist eine Verlängerung des Vertrages für ein Wintersemester über die Regelstudienzeit hinaus eher nicht möglich. Da jede diesbezügliche Entscheidung jedoch eine Einzelfallentscheidung ist, sollten Sie den Antrag mit entsprechender Begründung (Studienfortschrittsbericht) auf jeden Fall stellen.

Eine gute Alternative für das Weiterwohnen in einem Wintersemester über die Regelstudienzeit hinaus bietet unsere Untermietbörse. Hier bieten Wohnheimbewohner, die für ein Semester nicht in Dresden sein werden, ihren Wohnheimplatz anderen Studenten zur Untermiete an.